Frequently Asked Questions

For years, trees are highly valued by the people of Hong Kong who love and care about them. The Greening, Landscape and Tree Management Section of the Development Bureau (DEVB) has been working to foster a culture of love of plants and trees through diversified community participation activities, and by encouraging public participation in tree risk assessment and enhancing public education and community surveillance on the health of the trees, in order to ensure public safety. To allay the worries of the public and foster a better understanding of the Government's tree management policies, we have compiled a list of common concerns and responses as follows:

General Situation

Q1: What are the duties of the Tree Management Office (TMO)?
A1: The Government adopts an "integrated approach" for the management of trees. Under this approach, the different departments responsible for the maintenance of an area or a facility are also responsible for the maintenance of trees there, so as to optimise the use of resources. The duties of the TMO are to co-ordinate the tree management work of different departments, enhance public education and community involvement, provide regular training, promulgate best practices, conduct relevant researches and resolve complex cases, etc., so as to facilitate the departments to manage the trees under their care in a more effective and professional manner.
Q2: How many trees have been planted by the Government in recent years?
A2: Please visit the Planting Records.
Q3: Do the TMO staff have the expertise to carry out their duties?
A3: Currently (February 2016), the TMO has a total of 17 posts responsible for tree management. Most of these post-holders possess international professional qualifications in arboriculture, such as the International Society of Arboriculture (ISA) Certified Municipal Specialist, ISA Certified Tree Risk Assessor, ISA Certified Arborist, holder of Certificate in Professional Tree Inspection (LANTRA Awards UK) or honorary bachelor degree in arboriculture, etc. One of the post-holders has a doctoral degree in arboriculture.
Q4: Do the tree risk assessment methods adopted by the TMO comply with the international standards?
A4: We developed our tree risk assessment methods by mainly referring to the guidelines of the ISA, the U.S. Department of Agriculture and the relevant professions in the U.K. Thus, we follow the commonly-used international standards.
Q5: What would the DEVB do to enhance professionalism of management staff?
A5: The Training Committee established by the DEVB drew up relevant training and manpower development strategies for Government departments in order to ensure that all relevant departments would have competent staff to duly perform managerial, supervisory and frontline duties. The TMO will continue to organise for Government personnel responsible for tree management work training courses relating to the tree management such as tree risk management, tree identification, common tree problems, pests and diseases control, proper tree care measures, tree protection during construction works, etc. In addition, the TMO will also work with the local training institutions to provide more appropriate training opportunities for relevant government personnel, consultants and contractor employees.
Q6: What would the Government do to ensure that the tree risk assessment is effective in preventing injury arising from tree failure?
A6: Like other living things, trees undergo the life cycle of growth, ageing, sickness and death. Tree risk assessment allows departments to duly manage potential tree risk. Much effort is devoted to minimizing risk of tree failure at areas with high pedestrian and traffic flow. Notwithstanding that the health of a tree is subject to change over time and weather conditions (especially during inclement weather), we give our best endeavour at tree risk management.
Q7: Has the TMO made public details of the problematic trees?
A7: The publicly accessible Tree Register was established in July 2010. It contains such information as the distribution and conditions of and risk mitigation measures for important trees (Old and Valuable Trees (OVTs) and stonewall trees) and problematic trees that require close monitoring. The Tree Register is updated regularly. Departmental inspection officers assess the health and structural conditions of the trees on the Register and work out remedial actions and inspection timeframes (from several days to several months); while the TMO reviews the relevant risk assessment reports and conducts site inspections. Public can access the Tree Register website.
Q8: How would the Government ensure the performance standard of horticultural contractors?
A8:

The Government attaches much importance to the performance of horticultural contractors, and diligently monitors their work performance in accordance with the service contracts.

The Government states clearly all necessary work requirements for compliance in horticultural and tree management contracts. If the performance of a contractor cannot meet these service standards, departments concerned will, depending on the situation and according to the contract, take action against the contractor.

Meanwhile, the TMO has already issued guidelines on proper pruning practices and irregularities that should be avoided.

Q9: What are the procedures for tree removal (tree transplanting and/or tree felling) on private or leased land?
A9:

If the tree concerned is located on leased land with tree preservation clause(s), removal (inclusive of tree transplanting and/or tree felling) of such tree is controlled by the relevant lease clauses.

Prior to any tree removal, the lot owner or his/her representative shall submit a tree removal application to the respective District Lands Office of the Lands Department for approval. The application shall include tree information, reasons of tree removal and compensatory planting proposals. No tree removal is allowed until written approval is obtained from the Lands Department.

For details and enquiries regarding tree removal applications, please refer to Lands Administration Office"s Practice Note Issue No. 7/2007 or contact the respective District Lands Office of the Lands Department.

Q10: Why doesn't the Government put the fallen trees or dead branches collected into the planters nearby for use as soil cover or compost, but send them to the landfills instead?
A10:

Due care must be taken when using broken branches or tree trunks as mulch or compost. As these broken branches and tree trunks may be infected with diseases, using them as mulch may spread the diseases to other plants.

As a typhoon hits Hong Kong, a huge number of branches or trees may be damaged in a short time. The departments concerned will first clear or remove the trees that may endanger our lives or property. Then they will clear the trees that block the traffic in order to open up major highways and carriageways at the earliest instance to minimise the impacts on the public. Therefore, it is not practical to require the departments to inspect a huge quantity of fallen trees and broken branches to identify pest and disease in a short period of time right after the typhoon.

However, for the routine vegetation maintenance work including grass cutting, pruning in which disease parts are not involved, departments are encouraged to reuse and recycle yard waste.

Q11: Has the Government considered other more environmentally-friendly ways to process the dead plants in order to relieve the pressure on the landfills?
A11:

Within the country park areas, the Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation Department will turn plant waste into country park facilities, or stack them up at suitable locations to create suitable habitats for wildlife, and allow natural decomposition to occur.

As to the handling of plant waste, the departments concerned are studying how to make effective use of the compost or organic mulch as fertilisers in order to recycle plant waste. The DEVB will support the Environment Bureau"s work on the treatment of plant waste. The DEVB has also worked in conjunction with the tree management departments to launch a pilot programme with requirements to enhancing sustainability, such as the use of local compost and recycling felled trees, in a number of horticultural maintenance works. The Guidelines on Yard Waste Reduction and Treatment can be available here.

Q12: What should a private property management company do if poisonous plants are found inside a private property?
A12:

In general, planting of plants with known toxicity is not recommended in areas easily accessible to the public. If poisonous plants are already planted within a property, warning signs should be erected next to those plants to discourage the public and vegetation management workers from direct contact with the poisonous parts of the plants. When opportunities arise, the property management company should consider replacing the poisonous plants with non-toxic ones for public safety's sake.

Brown Root Rot (BRR) Disease

Q13: Recently, several OVTs have been found to be infected with BRR disease. Is there extensive infection in the territory? Does the TMO have any ways and means to tackle it? Is massive tree felling necessary to contain the spread of the disease?
A13: Although there is as yet any effective way to cure BRR disease, we have some knowledge of its modes of transmission. The disease is caused by fungi and is spread mainly through root contact or infected soil, and the likelihood of transmission by wind dispersal is low. Hence, the way to contain the infection is to properly handle infected wood tissues and soil. For serious infection cases, we will remove the infected trees and the debris together with the soil and arrange for disposal at landfills. According to related studies, application of fungicide to trees suffering mild infection is useful to a certain extent. Apart from applying fungicide, trenches will also be dug to separate the infected trees from healthy ones, with plastic or metal planks inserted to block the pathogen. Departments concerned will also arrange frequent inspections of trees in the infected area.
Q14: Are the frontline staff qualified to treat trees infected with BRR disease?
A14:

To enhance the knowledge of frontline and management staff on the control of the pests and diseases of plants and trees, the TMO has organised a number of courses on their control, including the control of BRR disease.

The TMO has also commissioned researchers and consultants from local universities to conduct a number of studies on topics that include the common biological tree decaying agents in Hong Kong, the wood strength of common tree species in Hong Kong, a Comprehensive Street Tree Management Plan for Hong Kong and a study on the Trichoderma species as a biological control agent against Phellinus noxius infected trees in Hong Kong. Their findings will be shared among the tree management departments and members of the industry, with a view to enhancing the standard of tree management in Hong Kong.

Q15: Will the TMO make reference to overseas experiences in the treatment of BRR disease?
A15:

The TMO has been meeting the Urban Forestry Advisory Panel, which is made up of local and overseas experts, on the control and treatment of the disease and to explore ways to tackle it. In 2011, we shared and exchanged views with Dr C.H. FU and Dr B.Y. HU, two visiting experts in phytopathology from Taiwan. Together we inspected the two trees (LCSD YTM/8 and LCSD YTM/11) on Nathan Road with the BRR disease. Since 2011, the TMO has been working closely with tree management departments once suspected cases of BRR infection were identified. An Introduction to Brown Root Rot Disease, which includes the diagnosis, treatment and proper handling of BRR infected trees was promulgated by the TMO in March 2011. To further enhance the management of BRR disease in Hong Kong, a precautionary and preventive approach for BRR management strategy has been promulgated in an expanded Guidelines on Brown Root Rot Disease in December 2012, incorporating the advice of the Expert Panel and taking into account their views and the topical literature from Europe, America and Taiwan (available here).

Moreover, staff from the TMO and relevant tree management departments attended the Seminar on Mature Tree Management held in Taipei in August 2012 to exchange experience with and learn about techniques from tree experts in Taiwan in the treatment of the disease.

Q16: How does the TMO detect BRR disease?
A16:

There is a three-step approach to determine the presence of BRR disease in trees, namely:

  1. Symptoms (such as a thinning and yellowish crown, with leaves reduced in size or even dropped);
  2. Field diagnosis of signs (such as the presence of adhesive soil particles, mycelial netting on the mycelia sheath and fruiting bodies of Phellinus noxius);
  3. DNA tests.

The TMO will carry out further studies on the various methods for the detection and inspection of the disease.

Q17: What are the methods available for diagnosis of BRR disease on trees?
A17:

There are currently two main levels of diagnostic methods available for determination of BRR disease in trees, namely field diagnosis through visual assessment and laboratory diagnosis through fungal isolation method and/or molecular diagnosis.

A short educational video on BRR disease entitled "Educational Video on Brown Root Rot Disease - Diagnosis, Control and Management Strategy" was produced in 2013 to further promote the knowledge on BRR disease to the general public and the industry, which is available here.

About Maintaining Trees for Private Properties

Q18: Is prior approval from the Government required for tree removal within private lots? What are the application procedures?
A18:

In granting a plot of land, the Lands Department ("Lands D") executes a lease with the grantee who is required to comply with the lease conditions after becoming the owner of the land. Leases executed at different times contain varying conditions. Private lot owners have to check and comply with the lease conditions. Where there is no tree preservation clause in the lease of a private lot, the lot owner can employ qualified professionals to attend to the trees within the lot. Regarding the employment of qualified professionals, private lot owners can refer to the tree website of the Development Bureau for the list of contractors or professional bodies providing tree management services. Generally speaking, where the lease of a private lot contains a tree preservation clause, the lot owner has to, except in an emergency situation, make a prior application to the District Lands Office (DLO) of Lands D and obtain a written consent before removing or pruning trees within the lot. To apply for tree removal or pruning, the private lot owner is required to submit a report prepared by a professional meeting the requirements specified in the Practice Note Issue No. 7/2007 available at Lands D's website, providing sufficient justifications and evidence for consideration. In granting a written consent, DLO may impose conditions on transplanting, compensatory landscaping or replanting as deemed appropriate. For application procedures for tree removal or pruning and guidelines on report preparation, please refer to the Practice Note Issue No. 7/2007 of Lands D. Further enquiries can be made to DLOs, the contact details of which can be found at the website of Lands D.

Q19: What action will the Government take if a private lot owner carries out tree removal or pruning within his/her property without approval?
A19:

Where the lease of a private lot contains a tree preservation clause, if the lot owner carries out tree removal or pruning within the lot without DLO's written consent, appropriate action will be taken by DLO upon detection. Such action includes issuing warning letters to the owner, requiring the owner to carry out compensatory planting or pay a premium if retrospective approval is given.

Q20: Can tree removal or pruning be carried out by private lot owners in emergency situations?
A20:

For the sake of public safety, tree pruning or removal can first be carried out by the owner of a private lot if the tree within the lot is considered to pose an immediate danger to the public after assessment by a professional employed by the lot owner meeting the requirements of the Practice Note Issue No. 7/2007 even though the lease of the lot contains a tree preservation clause (see Q.23). But the lot owner or his/her representative has to submit a detailed report prepared by the professional to Lands D within 21 days after the pruning or removal of the tree. The report should contain the justifications and evidence for tree pruning or removal, photos taken before and after the pruning or removal works, and the required compensatory planting proposal. For details, please refer to Appendix II of the Practice Note Issue No. 7/2007 of Lands D.

Q21: What action will the Government take if a private lot owner fails to properly maintain the trees within his/her property?
A21:

Regardless of whether the lease contains any clause requiring the owner of a private lot to properly maintain the trees within his/her lot, it is the responsibility of the owner to properly manage his/her property including the trees planted on the lot. Private lot owners may be held liable for any casualty or property loss arising from their failure to properly maintain the trees within their properties.

In addition, if the lease contains clauses requiring the owner to properly maintain the trees and the owner fails to comply with the lease conditions, Lands D will, upon detection, take lease enforcement action in the capacity of the grantor of a government lease. Such action includes issuing warning letters to the owner concerned.

常見問題

香港市民多年來都十分珍惜與愛護樹木。發展局轄下的綠化、園境及樹木管理組透過多元化社區參與活動,在本地培育愛護植物和樹木的文化,並鼓勵市民參與樹木風險管理和社區監察樹木,加強公眾教育及社區參與監察全港樹木狀況,以保障公眾安全。為了加深市民對政府的樹木管理政策之瞭解並釋除疑慮,我們整理了一系列公眾關注的問題及回應如下:

一般情況

問1: 樹木管理辦事處(樹木辦)的工作是甚麼?
答1: 政府當局以「綜合管理方式」管理樹木,即由不同部門各自負責管理其土地及設施範圍內的樹木,務求充分善用資源。樹木辦則負責協調不同部門的樹木管理工作,加強公眾教育和社區參與,以及透過定期提供培訓、頒布良好作業方法、進行相關研究和處理複雜個案等,藉此促使部門能更有效和專業地管理樹木。
問2: 過去數年政府種植了多少棵樹?
答2: 請瀏覽栽種植物記錄
問3: 樹木辦人員有沒有專業知識以履行職責?
答3: 樹木辦現時(2016年2月)共有17個負責樹木管理工作的職位,大部份受聘的人員具備多項國際樹藝專業資格,如國際樹木學會註冊城市樹木專家、國際樹木學會註冊樹木風險評估師、國際樹木學會註冊樹藝師、英國專業樹木檢查證書持有人及樹木學榮譽學士學位等。當中1人具備樹木學博士學位。
問4: 樹木辦所採用的樹木風險評估方法是否符合國際標準?
答4: 我們制定的樹木風險評估方法主要是參考國際樹藝學會、美國農業部、以及英國相關專業的指引編寫而成,符合國際慣用的標準。
問5: 發展局如何提升管理人員的樹木護理專業水平?
答5: 發展局成立了培訓委員會,為各樹木管理部門制訂相關的培訓及人力發展策略,以確保所有相關部門有足夠且具質素的人員,擔任管理、監督和前線的工作,妥善履行樹木管理工作不同範疇的職責。樹木辦會繼續為負責樹木管理的政府人員舉辦與樹木有關的培訓課程,例如樹木風險管理、識別樹種、常見樹木問題、防治病蟲害、正確樹木護養方法、工程期間的樹木防護措施等。此外,樹木辦亦會與本地培訓機構聯繫,為相關的政府人員、顧問和承辦商員工提供更多適切的培訓機會。
問6: 政府如何確保樹木風險評估能有效預防塌樹傷人?
答6: 樹木是生物,會經歷生、老、病、死。進行樹木風險評估有助部門妥善地管理樹木的潛在風險,將尤其在人流高、車流高地方的塌樹風險減至最低。然而,樹木的狀況會隨時間、天氣情況(尤其是惡劣天氣)而出現變化,我們會盡一切努力,做好樹木風險管理的工作。
問7: 樹木辦有否公布問題樹木的詳情?
答7: 我們自2010年7月起已設立公開的「樹木登記冊」,當中載有重要樹木(古樹名木及石牆樹)和需要密切監察的問題樹木的分佈、狀況及風險緩減措施。我們會定期更新這部份登記冊。部門的巡查人員會評估登記冊中樹木的健康及結構狀況,訂定改善措施及覆檢期(一般由數日至數月不等);而樹木辦則會檢視相關的風險評估報告及進行實地檢測。公眾人士可以瀏覽「樹木登記冊」
問8: 政府當局如何確保園藝承辦商的施工水平?
答8:

政府當局十分重視園藝承辦商的施工水平,並會透過服務合約去監督承辦商的施工水平。

政府當局在制定園藝及樹木管理合約時,會將所需的施工要求清楚列入合約內。如承辦商的施工未達合約所定的要求水平,相關部門會視乎情況並按照合約條款,向有關承辦商作出處分。

樹木辦亦已就修剪樹木制定相關的指引,詳細說明修剪樹木的良好作業方式,並指出應該避免的常見錯誤修剪手法。

問9: 欲在私人或已批租土地上移除(移植或砍伐)樹木,程序為何?
答9:

如須處理的樹木位於有保護樹木條款的私人土地上,有關移除(包括移植或砍伐)樹木工作須受相關的土地批約條款約束。

土地擁有人或其代表需於行動前向當區地政處提出申請,附上樹木資料、建議行動的詳細理由,重植計劃等;在取得地政處許可後方可移除樹木。

如對移除樹木的申請手續有任何查詢,請參閱地政處作業備考編號7/2007(只有英文版本)或向所屬地區的分區地政處聯絡。

問10: 為何政府當局不把收集到的塌樹或枯枝等放在附近的花槽用作泥土的掩蓋物或作堆肥而運往堆填區?
答10:

在利用斷枝或樹幹作為護根物或作堆肥時需要小心考慮。因為斷枝和樹幹可能已感染疾病,而使用染病的斷枝或樹幹作為護根物時可能會把疾病傳播到其他植物。

颱風吹襲本港時,在極短時開內有不少樹木折枝或倒塌,相關部門會優先清理或移除可能危及生命或財產的樹木,其次就是清理阻塞交通的樹木,務求盡快開通主要公路、通道,以減低對市民的影響。因此,要求部門在颱風後短時間內檢查大量塌樹和折枝以識別其有否染病,並不可行。

不過,在一般植物護理工作中,包括剪草及植物修剪,我們會鼓勵部門把沒有染病的園林癈料循環再用。

問11: 政府當局有否考慮以其他更環保的方法處理植物枯料,以減輕堆填區的壓力?
答11:

在郊野公園範圍內,漁農自然護理署會將植物廢料保留用作郊野公園設施,或堆放在適當地點作為野生生物棲息地,及讓其自然降解。

對於植物廢料的處理,有關部門正研究如何有效地利用這些堆肥或有機護根物作為植物肥料,使植物廢料能循環再用。發展局會支持環保局在處理植物廢料方面的工作。發展局亦已與樹木管理部門聯繫,準備在一些園藝管理工程中,開展先導計劃,加入更符合可持續發展的元素,如採用本地生產的堆肥和回收處理移除的樹木。減少和處理園林廢物指引可瀏覽這裡

問12: 如私人屋苑內種植了有毒植物,屋苑管理公司應如何處理?
答12:

一般而言,在公眾容易到達的地方,應避免種植已知有毒性的植物。如屋苑內已種植了有毒植物,物業管理公司應確保在有毒植物旁樹立警告標示,以阻止公眾及植物護養人員直接接觸植物的有毒部分。在適當時候,物業管理公司應考慮以無毒植物取代該些有毒植物,以保障公衆安全。

褐根病

問13: 近期數棵古樹名木被察覺染上褐根病,是否已出現大範圍感染?樹木辦有沒有處理方法?有需要大規模砍樹以控制病菌擴散嗎?
答13: 縱使褐根病目前未有絶對有效的治療方法,我們對其傳播途徑已有一定的理解。褐根病的病原為真菌,主要靠根系接觸或病土傳播,而藉空氣傳播的機會不大,因此控制擴散的重點是要適當地處理帶菌木材組織及土壤。我們會移除病情嚴重的樹木,將之連泥帶土一併包裹並埋掩在堆填區。根據相關研究顯示,使用殺真菌劑對病情輕微的褐根病感染有一定的抑制作用。部門除施用藥劑之外,亦會在病樹與健康樹木間挖掘深溝及鋪上膠質或金屬隔層,以阻隔病原,並會經常檢查病區內的其他樹木。
問14: 前線人員有否足夠技術處理褐根病病樹?
答14:

為加強前綫及管理工作人員對植物及樹木病蟲害防治的認識,樹木辦已舉辦了多次課程,講解有關植物及樹木病蟲害包括褐根病的防治方法。

此外,樹木辦已委託本地大學的科研人員及顧問進行多項研究,包括香港常見導致樹木腐朽的生物媒體、香港常見樹木的木質強韌度、香港行道樹的綜合管理研究以及評估木黴菌(Trichoderma species)作為對在香港受褐根病菌(Phellinus noxius)感染樹木的生物防治媒介。研究結果將會與樹木管理部門和業界分享,以提高本港樹木管理工作的水平。

問15: 樹木辦會否參考外國處理褐根病的手法?
答15:

樹木辦一直與由本地及海外專家組成的樹木管理專家小組,商討褐根病的防治與處理方法。我們在2011年也和訪港的兩位台灣植物病理學專家傅春旭博士和胡寶元博士交流意見,期間我們亦共同檢視了位於彌敦道的兩棵褐根病病樹LCSD YTM/8及LCSD YTM/11。

自2011年樹木辦就處理褐根病一直與樹木管理部門緊密合作,如有發現懷疑個案部門會馬上處理。樹木辦於2011年3月頒布“褐根病簡介”,內容包括認識褐根病的診斷、治理及適當處理感染樹木。為進一步提升香港的褐根病管理,樹木辦經諮詢樹木管理專家小組以及參考歐美多國和台灣等地的文獻後,於2012年12月頒布了一套預防及控制褐根病的管理策略實務指引(該指引見於此頁)。

此外,樹木辦及有關管理樹木的部門曾派員出席2012年8月於台北舉行的老樹管理實務研討會,與台灣的樹木專家作經驗交流及向他們學習處理褐根病的技術。

問16: 樹木辦如何偵測褐根病?
答16:

現時有關褐根病的檢測可分三個層面,即:

  1. 表面病徵(如樹冠葉片稀疏、黃萎、小葉化以至落葉情况),
  2. 田間診斷(如褐根病真菌的菌絲面沾黏土塊石粒、網紋狀菌絲束和子實體),以及
  3. 實驗室DNA檢測。

樹木辦會進一步研究褐根病的各種檢測方法。

問17: 褐根病現有什麼診斷方法?
答17:

現時主要有兩種診斷方法,以斷定樹木有否患上褐根病,即實地進行目視評估以作診斷,及在實驗室以真菌分離法及/或分子技術進行診斷。

樹木管理辦事處於2013年製作了一輯名為「褐根病 - 診斷、防控及管理策略」的褐根病教育短片讓公眾及護理人員進一步認識褐根病。該短片見於此頁

護養私人物業樹木的常見問題

問18: 如私人地段範圍內需移除樹木,是否事先必須獲得政府批核?有甚麼申請程序?
答18:

地政總署在批出土地時,會與承批人簽訂地契,承批人成為私人地段業主後必須遵守地契條款。不同時代簽訂的地契其條款不盡相同,私人地段業主須查核並遵守其地契條款。如私人地段地契沒有樹木保育條款,該私人地段業主可自行聘請相關合資格專業人士處理地段範圍內的樹木。在聘請相關合資格專業人士方面,私人地段業主可參考發展局樹木網站內列出的樹木管理服務承辦商或專業團體。一般而言,如私人地段地契載有樹木保育條款,該私人地段業主除在緊急情況外,須事先向地政總署轄下分區地政處申請,取得書面同意後才可移除或修剪地段範圍內的樹木。該私人地段業主申請移除或修剪樹木,須提交由符合載於地政總署網頁的作業備考編號7/2007(只有英文版本) 要求的專業人士擬備的報告,提供充足理由及證據供考慮。地政處批出同意書時,可按其認為適當的情況,施加移植、補償美化環境或重新栽種的條件。有關申請移除或修剪樹木的手續和擬備報告的指引,請參閱上述地政總署的作業備考編號7/2007。如需進一步查詢,可聯絡各分區地政處,聯絡資料亦載於地政總署網頁

問19: 如私人地段業主未取得批准便移除或修剪物業範圍內的樹木,政府會採取甚麼行動?
答19:

如私人地段地契載有樹木保育條款而該地段業主在未取得分區地政處的書面同意便移除或修剪地段範圍內的樹木,一經發現,分區地政處會就個案的情況採取適當行動,行動可包括向涉事業主發警告信,要求業主補償種植或徵收事後如獲批准需繳的費用。

問20: 私人地段業主可否在緊急情況下移除或修剪樹木?
答20:

如私人地段地契載有樹木保育條款〔見問23〕而私人地段業主聘請符合載於地政總署網頁的作業備考編號7/2007(只有英文版本) 要求的專業人士作出評估後,認為其地段範圍內的樹木會對公眾構成即時危險時,該私人地段業主可在公眾安全的前提下先進行必須的修剪或移除,但該私人地段業主或其代表須於隨後的21天內,向地政總署提交由專業人士擬備的詳細報告,內容須包括需要修剪或移除的理由及證據,以及修剪或移除工程前後的照片及所需的補償種植建議。有關詳情請參閱上述地政總署的作業備考編號7/2007的附件II。

問21: 如私人地段業主沒有妥善護養其物業範圍內的樹木,政府會採取甚麼行動?
答21:

無論地契是否載有條款規定私人地段業主須妥善護養位於其地段範圍內的樹木,業主亦有責任妥善管理其物業,包括種植在私人土地上的樹木。私人地段業主如不妥善護養其物業內的樹木而引致有人命傷亡或財物損失,業主可能負上法律責任。

另外,如地契載有條款要求業主妥善護養樹木而業主沒有遵守地契條款的要求,一經發現,地政總署會以政府租契批租人的身份採取執行契約條款行動,行動可包括向涉事業主發警告信。