Skyrise Greenery

Skyrise Greenery
Photo from DEVB

Skyrise greening represents a new concept of greenery in urban landscape. In a broad sense, it encompasses all greening at the buildings or other structures beyond the ground level, including roof greening, vertical greening, sky gardens, terrace planting, etc. Skyrise greening provides environmental benefits as well as enhances aesthetic quality of our urban environment. For implementation of skyrise greening, there are two main approaches: roof greening and vertical greening.

Roof greening is characterized by planting works on structural slabs, i.e. non at-grade planting, with main focus on the horizontal dimension. It is formed on rooftop and/or other parts of buildings or structures by means of intensive green roof and/or extensive green roof.

Intensive green roof
Photo from DEVB

Intensive green roof usually consists of deeper soil depth, supports wider plant range, requires higher maintenance input, and provides access for recreational purpose. Podium gardens, roof gardens, sky gardens are typical examples of intensive green roof.

Extensive green roof
Photo from DEVB

Extensive green roof usually consists of shallower soil depth, supports narrower plant range, requires lesser maintenance input, and access is provided for maintenance purpose only. Typical examples of extensive green roof include greening on top of covered walkways, rooftop of buildings, etc.

Vertical greening
Photo from DEVB

Vertical greening is formed by either planting at-grade or planting on elevated planters, aiming at creating greenery mainly on vertical surface of associated structures. Typical examples of vertical greening include planting of climbing and/or weeping plants along the edges of buildings or structures, planting of other suitable plants on stacks of modular planters or panels, or combination of both.

高空綠化

高空綠化
發展局照片

高空綠化是個新的市區綠化概念。廣義而言,高空綠化包括建築物或其他構築物在地面以上的所有綠化工作,包括屋頂綠化、垂直綠化、空中花園、平台種植等。高空綠化能為環境帶來各種好處,並能美化市區環境。高空綠化主要有兩種方式:屋頂綠化和垂直綠化。

屋頂綠化的特點是在結構地台上種植植物,即非地面種植,而且着重橫向栽種。屋頂綠化可以是以密集及/或粗放方式,在屋頂及/或建築物或構築物的其他地方種植植物。

密集型綠化屋頂
發展局照片

密集型綠化屋頂的土層通常較深,可以種植的植物品種較多。這類綠化屋頂會有通道到達,以作休憩用途,而需要的護養工夫較多。平台花園、屋頂花園、空中花園都是密集型綠化屋頂的典型例子。

粗放型綠化屋頂
發展局照片

粗放型綠化屋頂的土層通常較淺,可以種植的植物品種較少。這類綠化屋頂只為護養人員提供通道,需要的護養工夫較少。粗放型綠化屋頂的典型例子包括綠化的有蓋行人路上蓋、建築物屋頂等。

垂直綠化
發展局照片

垂直綠化通常指在地面或升高的花槽種植植物,目的是在相關構築物的垂直面種植植物。垂直綠化的典型例子包括在建築物或構築物的邊沿地方種植攀緣及/或下垂的植物;在合適的多層組件式花槽或組件板上種植植物;又或兩者同時進行。