Brown Root Rot Disease

1. What is Brown Root Rot disease?

Brown Root Rot disease has led to the rapid health deterioration of the India-rubber Tree in the photo.

Phellinus noxius (有害木層孔菌) is a white simultaneous rot fungus that causes Brown Root Rot (BRR) disease (褐根病), which could result in rapid health and structural deterioration of trees and may lead to tree failure.

The disease is prevalent in tropical and subtropical areas worldwide and affecting trees in Hong Kong, nearby regions (e.g. Taiwan, Macau, Singapore, Malaysia, Japan), and other places across the world (e.g. Australia, Central America, Africa and Oceania). It has been reported that over 200 plant species are hosts to Phellinus noxius worldwide. According to international literature, there is no direct remedy for BRR infected trees at present.

The situation in Hong Kong and other places in the region:

The Chinese Banyan is one of the tree species susceptible to BRR infection in Hong Kong. The Chinese Banyan is one of the tree species susceptible to BRR infection in Hong Kong.

(a) In Hong Kong

Since 2010, there has been increasing number of reported BRR cases across the territory, partly due to improved diagnostic knowledge and techniques. As at May 2014, there are around 100 trees confirmed with BRR infection.

(b) In Macau

According to the Department of Gardens and Green Areas, the Civic and Municipal Affairs Bureau of Macau, around 250 numbers of BRR infected trees have been removed each year since 2011.

(c) In Taiwan

According to the information from the Public Works Department of Taipei City, as at October 2012, there are over 6,200 numbers of BRR infected trees identified in Taipei City.

(d) In Singapore

Brown Root Rot problems in Singapore have been known for decades and recent incidents of BRR infection have also been reported.

2. How does Brown Root Rot disease spread?

The disease mainly spreads through root-to-root contact or through infested wood debris in soil. Hence, personal gear such as shoes (sole) and tools such as adze, knives, scissors and shovels that have been used on confirmed/suspected BRR infected trees or sites should be carefully and thoroughly cleaned and sterilised by disinfectant. The disease may also be transmitted through the long range dissemination of basidiospores from fruiting bodies.

Brown Root Rot disease has led to the rapid health deterioration of the India-rubber Tree in the photo.

3. Hong Kong SAR Government’s work in controlling the Brown Root Rot (BRR) disease

The Tree Management Office (TMO) of the Greening, Landscape and Tree Management Section of the Development Bureau serves at the policy level to provide advice and support on tree management by government departments.

(a) Diagnosis of Brown Root Rot Disease:

Early diagnostic symptoms of BRR disease are often difficult to detect although the disease can cause a rapid decline in tree conditions within a short period of time. The TMO has spearheaded local researches on BRR to better manage the disease. One of the most important applications is the early confirmation of BRR diagnosis through molecular (DNA) analysis provided by local institutions so that follow-up actions to manage the spread of the disease could be timely undertaken.

Primordial stage of fruiting bodies of Phellinus noxius. Mature fruiting bodies (bracket forms) of Phellinus noxius.

Diagnosis of BRR disease in trees is usually undertaken in three steps:

  1. Identification of Symptoms (typical symptoms such as unusual thinning and yellowing of tree crown, diminished leaves or shedding of leaves);
  2. Field diagnosis of signs (presence of adhesive soil particles, mycelial netting on the mycelia sheath and fruiting bodies of Phellinus noxius); and
  3. Laboratory tests including fungal culture isolation and/or molecular analysis.

(b) Guidelines on Brown Root Rot Disease:

To ensure the control of the BRR disease in Hong Kong, with the advice of the Expert Panel on Tree Management, the TMO has promulgated a precautionary and preventive approach for BRR management through the release of the leaflet on Introduction to Brown Root Rot Disease (2011) and Guidelines on Brown Root Rot Disease (2012). The Guidelines provide ready information on the identification of suspected BRR cases, management strategy, removal procedures, etc., supplemented with a pictorial guide and a set of FAQs on BRR disease.

(c) Education to professionals and the public:

Seminars and workshops have been organised to strengthen government departments' capacity in handling the disease and the public's awareness of the disease. The TMO will continue to provide training to staff of departments to equip them for field diagnosis of BRR disease and arrange seminars/ talks on BRR disease to members of the industry and the public.

(d) Educational Video on Brown Root Rot Disease:

To further promote the knowledge on BRR disease, the TMO has produced an educational video on "Brown Root Rot Disease - Diagnosis, Control and Management Strategy" through vivid illustrations and animations on the identification of suspected BRR cases, the management strategies and removal procedures.

(e) Local Research on BRR Disease:

Although there is no known direct remedy for the BRR disease so far, there has been overseas research information to suggest the possible employment of antagonistic fungal species (particularly Trichoderma strains) as biological agent to control the BRR disease. In light of this, the TMO has, in collaboration with local universities, commissioned research studies in this aspect. The study demonstrated successful isolation of local strains of Trichoderma which could effectively suppress the BRR fungus under laboratory conditions. The actual application in the field has yet to be determined through field trials, although initial trials gave promising results.

(f) Exchange and Collaboration:

The TMO has been communicating actively with local tree experts as well as overseas tree specialists in sharing information and experience on BRR management. They include government officials, academics, researchers, municipal tree experts as well as arboricultural professionals from Hong Kong, Macau, Mainland China, Taiwan, Malaysia, Singapore, Australia, Europe and the USA.

4. Overall Summary:

褐根病

1. 什麼是褐根病?

褐根病令圖中印度橡樹的健康狀況急速惡化。

有害木層孔菌是一種導致褐根病的白腐真菌,能迅速損害樹木的健康及結構,更可能令樹木倒塌。

褐根病在熱帶及亞熱帶地區十分普遍,影響本港、鄰近地區(例如台灣、澳門、新加坡、馬來西亞和日本)以至世界其他地區(例如澳洲、中美洲、非洲和大洋洲)的樹木。據報道,全球超過200種植物是有害木層孔菌的寄主。根據國際文獻,現時沒有直接方法治療感染褐根病的樹木。

香港及區內其他地方的情況:

細葉榕是本港容易感染褐根病的樹木品種之一。 細葉榕是本港容易感染褐根病的樹木品種之一。

(a) 香港

自2010年起,本港各處的褐根病個案有所增加,部分原因是診斷知識和技術均已提升。截至2014年5月,全港共有約100棵樹確診感染褐根病。

(b) 澳門

澳門民政總署轄下的園林綠化部表示,自2011年起,當局每年移除約250棵感染褐根病的樹。

(c) 台灣

台北市工務局提供的資料顯示,截至2012年10月,台北市發現超過6 200棵感染褐根病的樹。

(d) 新加坡

新加坡數十年前已出現褐根病問題,最近亦有樹木染病報告。

2. 褐根病如何傳播?

褐根病主要靠根系接觸或泥土中受感染的碎木傳播。因此,任何個人裝備(例如鞋履,尤其是鞋底)及工具(例如扁斧、刀、剪及鏟),假如曾用作處理確診/懷疑感染褐根病的樹木或地點,均須仔細及徹底清潔,並以消毒劑消毒。此外,褐根病亦可能靠子實體產生擔孢子遠距離傳播。

褐根病令圖中印度橡樹的健康狀況急速惡化。

3. 香港特別行政區政府的褐根病防控工作

發展局綠化、園境及樹木管理組轄下的樹木管理辦事處(樹木辦)負責就各政府部門的樹木管理工作,在政策層面提供意見及支援。

(a) 診斷褐根病:

雖然褐根病可於短時間內導致樹木的狀況急速惡化,但樹木感染褐根病初期的病徵不易察覺。樹木辦領導本地的褐根病研究工作,以期更妥善控制病情。控制病情的重要方法之一,是由本地機構進行分子(脫氧核糖核酸)分析,盡早確定褐根病的診斷結果,以便及時跟進,控制病情蔓延。

有害木層孔菌的初期子實體形態。 有害木層孔菌的成熟子實體(覆瓦狀)。

診斷樹木是否感染褐根病一般分為三個步驟:

  1. 識別病徵(典型病徵包括樹冠稀疏、葉片黃萎、葉片變小或落葉等異常情況);
  2. 實地診斷病狀(例如泥粒變黏、菌絲面呈菌絲網紋,以及有害木層孔菌長出子實體);以及
  3. 實驗室測試,包括真菌培養分離法及/或分子分析。

(b) 褐根病指引:

為確保本港的褐根病病情受控,樹木辦徵詢樹木管理專家小組的意見後,發布《樹木褐根病簡介》單張(2011年)及《褐根病指引》(2012年),以頒布預防和控制褐根病的管理策略。指引提供方便實用的資料,說明如何識別懷疑褐根病個案,以及介紹管理策略及移除染病樹木的程序等,並附有圖解及褐根病常見問題。

(c) 教育業內人士及公眾:

為了讓政府部門加深認識如何診斷和處理感染褐根病的樹木,以及喚起公眾關注褐根病,樹木辦為公私營機構及市民舉辦了多個研討會及工作坊。

(d) 褐根病教育短片:

為進一步促進市民認識褐根病,樹木辦製作了「褐根病─診斷、防控及管理策略教育短片」,以生動的圖片及動畫說明如何識別懷疑褐根病個案,以及介紹管理策略及移除染病樹木的程序。

(e) 本地的褐根病研究:

雖然至今仍沒有已知方法直接治療褐根病,但海外研究資料顯示,對抗性真菌(特別是木黴菌)或可用作防治褐根病的生物媒介。有鑑於此,樹木辦與本地大學合作進行這方面的研究,並成功分離出本地木黴菌,在實驗室環境下能有效抑制褐根病真菌。雖然初步測試的成效令人鼓舞,但我們尚要通過實地測試才能決定是否可在實際環境中使用木黴菌。

(f) 交流合作:

樹木辦一直積極聯絡本地及海外的樹木專家,分享處理褐根病的資訊和經驗。這些專家包括香港、澳門、中國內地、台灣、馬來西亞、新加坡、澳洲、歐洲及美國的政府人員、學者、研究人員、城市樹木專家及樹藝專業人士。

4. 摘要: