Knowledge Sharing

Special Topics

A Historical Account of Our City Flower, Bauhinia x blakeana
- by Patrick Lai


The Bauhinia x blakeana Dunn was first chosen as the City Flower of Hong Kong in 1965. The species was later on selected to be the regional emblem of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region on 1 July 1997 when Hong Kong returned to the Chinese sovereignty. Bauhinia x blakeana has been widely cultivated in parks, gardens as well as roadside amenity areas in Hong Kong and other parts of the world. Its interesting leaf form and showy flowers throughout the winter months make this handsome tree well known to most of our citizens. However, not many of us would know its history and how it was discovered in this world.

This species was first mentioned in the Report on the Botanical and Afforestation Department for the Year 1903. The report described, "The mysterious origin of the tree and its magnificent flowers at once arrest the interest. A tree of it was discovered between 20 and 30 years ago in the woods on Mount Davis from which it was introduced by its finder into the gardens of the Pokfulum Sanatorium and from there to the Botanic Gardens. So far, all efforts to identify them with any foreign species have failed".

Specimens had subsequently been compared in the Kew in Britain and other herbaria, but without the discovery of any similar plant elsewhere. Until 1908, the then Superintendent of the Botanical and Afforestation Department, Mr. S. T. Dunn described the tree in Latin and formally published it as a new species in the Journal of Botany. Mr. Dunn added in the article that, "It is indeed to the Fathers of the above Mission (Missions Etrangeres at Pokfulam) that we owe the preservation of the Bauhinia. It was discovered by them near the ruins of a house on the sea-shore; from the trees thus produced the Botanic Gardens were supplied." The species Bauhinia x blakeana was named after Sir Henry and Lady Blake to commemorate the kind interest taken in the Botanic Gardens by them. Sir Henry Blake was the Governor of Hong Kong from 1898 to 1903.

Bauhinia x blakeana was propagated by cutting, grafting or air-layering. All the individuals we see today are probably the direct descendants of the one first cultivated in Botanic Gardens.

Aquilaria sinensis and Origin of the Name of Hong Kong

Aquilaria sinensis (Lour.) Gilg, with a common name "incense tree", is an evergreen tree species native to South China. Its trunk is smooth and light grey, leaves are oval-shaped with fine vines, and flowers are small and yellowish green. In summer, plenty of oval-shaped green fruits can be seen hanging on it. It is a useful plant as the resin extracted from wood can be used for making incense and Chinese medicine, its wood for joss sticks, and its bark for paper. It has been listed as a Wild Plant under State Protection (Category II) in China owing to the decline in its distribution. However, Aquilaria sinensis is common in Hong Kong and currently not under any threat.

What is the relationship between this handsome tree and the name of the place we are living in? Despite various explanations for the origin of the name of Hong Kong, the most popular belief is that Hong Kong derives its name from "Fragrant Harbour" or "Incense Harbour".

According to "Hong Kong and Its External Communication before 1842", a book written by Professor Lo Hsiang-lin and other reference materials, incense tree was planted in large numbers in Tung Koon (Dongguan) District and the New Territories of Hong Kong, particularly at Lik Yuen (Shatin) and Sha Lo Wan (the west of Lantau Island) during the Sung Dynasty (619-970 A.D.). The products of incense tree, pieces of incense each shaped like an amber, were transported through land routes from the production areas to Tsim Sha Tau (now Tsim Sha Tsui) and then by sampan to Shek Pai Wan (now Aberdeen), where incense products were finally exported to destinations in the Mainland China, Southeast Asia and places as far as Arabia. Shek Pai Wan, the harbour exporting incense, was therefore named 'Fragrant Harbour' ('Heung Harbour'), to the extent that the whole island was later known as Hong Kong.

However, during the early Ching (Qing) Dynasty (1662-1720 A.D.), in order to counter the coastal attacks by pirates, all coastal habitants were evacuated to inlands. Therefore, the planting industries of incense tree were seriously affected.

Now, the harvesting of incense tree for economic uses has disappeared in Hong Kong. As the climate and soil condition in Hong Kong are suitable for the growth of incense tree, it becomes a common tree species found in our countryside.


Text Version of the Major Types of Vegetation

The Vegetation of Hong Kong

The original vegetation of Hong Kong no longer exists after centuries of human disturbance through his fire and axe. The existing vegetation is the secondary forest developed in the latter half of the twentieth century after the Second World War. The major types of vegetation in Hong Kong are woodland, shrubland and grassland. Minor formations occur in special habitats in relation to the freshwater and coastal environments.

There are also small but well-developed woodlands associated with many of the older villages and temples. These are the "Fung Shui Woods" ("Sacred or Lucky Groves"), which owe their existence to the protection afforded by the villagers in accordance with ancient traditions. These woodlands are often enriched by the planting of Aquilaria sinensis, Cinnamomum camphora, and fruit trees such as Euphoria longan, Litchi chinensis, Syzygium jambos and clumps of bamboos.

Many hillslopes have been reforested with Acacia confusa, Pinus massoniana, Pinus elliottii, Eucalyptus species and Lophostemon confertus. In recent years, more native trees have been planted on hillslopes, including Machilus chekiangensis, Castanopsis fissa, and Schima superba. Bamboos in Hong Kong are scattered and shrubby. Common species are Arundinaria hindsii, Arundinaria shiuyingiana, A. cantorii, and Indocalamus sinicus.

Some Common Plants in Hong Kong Countryside


Psychotria asiatica
A common shrub in wooded areas

Machilus chekiangensis
The most common tree in forests

Hibiscus tiliaceus
A common seashore plant

Dicranopteris pedata
A common plant on hillsides

What is Mikania?


Leaves and flowers of Mikania

Mikania (Mikania micrantha Kunth) is an exotic perennial herbaceous vine belonging to the family Asteraceae (Compositae). It is originated from tropical South and Central America but is now widely distributed in India, Southeast Asia, Pacific islands and South China including Guangdong and Hong Kong.

Similar to the habit of other climbers, Mikania climbs up other plants to reach the canopy for better sunlight. Even worse, its leaves grow vigorously and will cover up other plants eventually causing damage or even killing other plants by cutting out the light for photosynthesis and smothering them. Mikania sprawls out rapidly in spring and summer which is the reason for its name "mile-a-minute weed". Moreover, it reproduces efficiently both sexually by seeds, and vegetatively by rooting at nodes.

Mikania has characteristic opposite, heart-shaped leaves, margins irregularly coarsely toothed, 4 - 13cm long. Mikania has much branched and hairless stems, and numerous small heads of densely clustered white flowers with fragrant. Mikania produces small seeds, black in colour, with a terminal tuft of white bristles for wind dispersal.


A seed of Mikania with a terminal tuft of white bristles

The Government strategy in controlling Mikania

Confirming the need

Upon receipt of enquires or complaints on Mikania related issues, a site visit would normally be required to confirm the species of climbing plant of concern and to assess the habitat and vegetation affected. Particular attention should be paid to the climbing plant in question as it could be our native species such as Climbing Bauhinia (Bauhinia glauca) and Spiny-fruited Vine (Byttneria aspera) which commonly occur in Hong Kong as part of our biodiversity. In such cases, it is not desirable to clear the climbers which would cause unnecessary disturbance to the natural vegetation cover and may even create a niche for Mikania to invade.

Setting the priority

At the time being, it would be impossible to eradicate Mikania completely in Hong Kong, as it has already taken root in many locations. When considering a request for clearing Mikania, one should firstly assess the priority according to the impacts on vegetation and landuse of the site in question. In general, priority should be given to control the spreading of Mikania at ecologically important areas such as Country Parks, Special Areas and SSSIs and to clear Mikania where mature trees and woodland habitat have been adversely affected. On the contrary, removal of Mikania on derelict fields or disturbed sites may not be justified unless the situation is very unsightly causing public concerns. Site accessibility should also be duly considered as some sites affected by Mikania are on difficult terrains or at remote areas where access would be impracticable.

Concerted efforts

Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation Department conducts regular monitoring in Country Parks, Special Areas and SSSIs and would remove Mikania to prevent spreading of this weed in these areas as far as practicable. Other concerned departments would arrange clearing of Mikania affecting the natural vegetation and landscape features in areas under their jurisdictions where warranted. Landowners and management agents of private housing estates should be responsible for the locations within their properties. Various departments or concerned parties may appoint landscape contractors, skilled landscape workers or gardeners to clear Mikania in areas under their jurisdictions. AFCD has also prepared a Practice Note on clearing Mikania for interested parties for general reference.

In principle, the best way to protect woodland and trees from damage by Mikania is to monitor the situation with regular maintenance to control its spreading. Depending on the intended landuse of the site in question, planting trees and shrubs at the site may be considered as a long-term measure to control Mikania. In addition, disturbance and fragmentation on natural woodland should be avoided as far as possible in order not to create woodland edges which are susceptible to Mikania invasion.

Back

知識分享

植物專題

香港市花洋紫荊的故事
(作者:黎存志)


洋紫荊(Bauhinia blakeana Dunn)首次在1965年選定為香港的市花。及後,1997年7月1日香港回歸中國主權而成立香港特別行政區,洋紫荊更用作特區區徽。洋紫荊在香港的公園、花園、路旁的花圃以及世界不少地方廣泛栽種。它吸引人的葉形和眩耀的花,開遍冬季,相信大多數市民都會對它甚為熟悉。然而,甚少人知道它的歷史和發現經過。

植物及林務部1903年的年報首次題及這個品種。報告中寫道:「該樹木品種神秘的來源和燦爛的花朵早已引起人的興趣。它約在20至30年前在摩星嶺的樹林中被發現,發現者把它從那裡引入薄扶林療養院的花園,其後再引進到植物公園。至今,仍未能找到和它相同的品種」。

其後,它的標本曾與存放在英國邱園標本館和其他標本館中的比較了,但是沒有在其它地方發現任何類似的植物。直到1908年,當時植物及林務部的監督鄧恩先生,用拉丁文描述了這種樹木,並在植物學報正式發表它作為一個新種。鄧恩在文中注明:「洋紫荊得以保存,實有賴薄扶林巴黎外方傳教會神父們的功勞。他們由靠近海邊一房子的頹垣中發現了它;從這些樹再移植至植物公園」。洋紫荊的種名以1898至1903年任港督的卜力(Henry Blake)爵士及其夫人命名,以表揚卜力夫婦對植物公園的支持。

洋紫荊以剪枝、插枝及壓條繁殖。今日我們見到的洋紫荊,很可能都是首株種在植物公園的直接後代。

土沉香與「香港」之得名

土沉香Aquilaria sinensis (Lour.) Gilg 又名牙香樹、白木香,還有一個美麗的名字叫做「女兒香」。它是原產南中國的常綠喬木,有平滑及淺灰色的樹幹、卵形及葉脈幼細的葉片和黃綠色的小花。在夏天,可看到一個個綠色的果實掛在樹上。土沉香的用途廣泛,它的樹脂可製成香料或供藥用,木材可製線香,而樹皮可用來造紙。由於分佈區不斷縮小,只剩下零星的分佈,中國國務院已將它列為國家二級保護野生植物,予以保護。但土沉香在本港常見,並未受任何特別的威脅。

土沉香與我們現居地的名稱有甚麼關係呢?香港這個名稱的起源,雖然有多種說法,但普遍認為香港即「香的港口」。

根據當代著名學者羅香林教授撰寫的《一八四二年以前之香港及其對外交通》及其他有關資料描述,在宋朝,東莞一帶及香港的新界瀝源(沙田)及沙螺灣(大嶼山西面)大量種植土沉香。當時,香農將土沉香的產品 - 琥珀狀、半透明的香塊(又稱「莞香」) - 從陸路運到尖沙頭(即今日的尖沙咀),再用舢舨運往石排灣(即今日的香港仔),再轉運至中國大陸及東南亞,甚至遠達阿拉伯。因此,石排灣這個販運香品的港口被稱為「香港」,即「香的港口」,後來「香港」更成為整個海島的名稱。

但到了清朝初年,朝廷為了清剿海患,勒令東南沿海居民向內陸遷徙。因此,種植土沉香的農業受到很大的影響。現時香港已沒有出產土沉香作經濟用途,然而香港的氣候及水土適宜土沉香生長,因此土沉香已成為本地郊野常見的樹種。


主要的植被群落的文字版

香港的植被

由於長期受到人類活動的影響,香港的原生植被早已不復存在。現存的植被是戰後經過半個世紀恢復起來的次生林。主要的植被群落大致可分為樹林、灌叢和草地三種,而小型的群落則在淡水及海岸環境等特殊生境出現。

在古老的村落後方或廟宇附近常有面積小但種類豐富的「風水林」,村民因需要保護當地的風水,不僅不會破壞其中的樹木,還會時常加以保護,使許多物種能在這些樹林中繁衍生息。村民也有添種其他樹木,種類包括土沉香、樟樹、果樹如龍眼、荔枝和蒲桃,以及大竹叢。

香港的天然山坡亦種植了不少人工林,主要種類有臺灣相思、馬尾松、濕地松、桉樹、紅膠木等,而近年山坡植樹亦較多採用一些本地樹種,包括浙江潤楠、黧蒴錐及木荷等。而本港的竹林主要由灌木型散生竹組成,常見的種類有篲竹、托竹、華箬竹等。

一些香港常見的野生植物


九節
香港林地的常見灌木

浙江潤楠
香港樹林常見樹種

黃槿
香港海岸生境常見植物

芒萁
香港山坡常見植物

關於薇甘菊


薇甘菊的花和葉

薇甘菊是菊科多年生草本植物,屬外來品種,原產於中南美洲等熱帶地區,現已遍布印度、東南亞、太平洋島嶼及華南地區,包括廣東和香港。 有如其他攀緣植物一般,薇甘菊會藉攀附其他植物至樹冠以攝取更多陽光,從而有助生長。更甚的是,薇甘菊的葉子生長蓬勃,會覆蓋其他植物,令其光照不足,難以進行光合作用,因而有礙生長,甚至死亡。薇甘菊在春夏兩季生長迅速,因此有「一分鐘蔓延一英里的雜草」("Mile-a-minute weed")之稱。此外,它既可藉種子萌芽生長作有性繁殖,又可在莖節處生根作無性繁殖。

薇甘菊長有對生的心形葉片,長4至13厘米,葉緣有不規則的粗齒或淺波狀圓鋸齒;莖細長,多分枝,無毛;花呈白色,細小且有微香,於枝端簇成細小的頭狀花序;果實細小,呈黑色,頂端的白色冠毛有利風力傳播。


薇甘菊的種子頂端有白色冠毛

政府的防治薇甘菊策略

確定是否需要清除

當局在接到有關薇甘菊的查詢或投訴時,如需要時會派員到現場視察,以確定所指的攀緣植物屬何品種,同時評估該處的生境和樹木受影響的程度。視察人員會小心察看並鑑定該攀緣植物,因為有可能是本地原生品種而並非薇甘菊,例如是本港常見的粉葉羊蹄甲(Bauhinia glauca)和刺果藤(Byttneria aspera)。若然是這些植物,便不宜清除,否則,該處的天然植被會受不必要的干擾,而且有可能讓薇甘菊乘虛而入。

釐定優先次序

要完全杜絕薇甘菊在本港出現,目前並不可能,因為它已在多處地方落地生根。當局考慮清除薇甘菊的要求時,應先根據該處的樹木受影響程度和土地用途而評估其優先次序。一般會優先處理具重要生態價值的地方,例如郊野公園、特別地區和具特殊科學價值地點,以抑制其蔓延。另外,假如有成熟的樹木和林地生境受嚴重影響,該處的薇甘菊亦會優先被清除。相反,除非十分礙眼並引起公眾關注,生長在荒地或受干擾地點上的薇甘菊則較為次要。此外,亦須考慮受薇甘菊影響的地點是否容易到達,有些受影響的地點因地勢險要或位置偏遠,極難到達。

分工合作

漁農自然護理署(漁護署)定期監察郊野公園、特別地區和具特殊科學價值地點,並會清除薇甘菊,盡量防止它在這些地方蔓延。如有需要,其他有關部門會作出安排,把影響其轄區內天然林木和園林設施的薇甘菊清除。土地業權人和私人屋苑管理公司須負責管理其物業範圍內的地方,各部門或有關人士可委聘園林承辦商、熟練的園林工人或園務工人在其轄區清除薇甘菊。漁護署亦已擬備清除薇甘菊作業備考,供有關人士參考。

原則上,要保護林地和樹木免受薇甘菊損害,最佳辦法是多作監察和定期保養,以抑制其蔓延。可考慮在有關地點種植樹木和灌木,作為長遠的防治措施,但須符合該處的土地預定用途。此外,應盡量避免干擾和分割天然林地,以免造成林地邊緣地帶,讓薇甘菊有機可乘。

返回