Street Tree Selection Guide

The Greening, Landscape, and Tree Management Section (GLTMS) in the Development Bureau (DEVB) of the HKSAR commissioned a Consultancy Study to rationalise and guide the selection of street trees in Hong Kong. The purpose is to improve the resilience of the Territory’s urban forest by maximising species diversity under the principle of “Right Tree, Right Place” to improve ecological health upstream and in turn, minimise tree risks downstream.

A number of trees planted in the past might have been suitable for a particular location at that time. Some trees, such as afforestation pioneer planting on slopes, have out-grown their compact urban environment or are reaching the end of their life-cycle and are no longer appropriate. As trees are gradually due for replacement, it presents opportunities for the adoption of sustainable landscape strategies and practices. The result is the Street Ecology Strategy for Hong Kong (the Study). It aims to provides a strategic framework for sustainable long-term management of our street trees in a holistic manner, and forms part of government’s overall efforts in supporting the Hong Kong Biodiversity Strategy and Action Plan (BSAP), the Hong Kong’s Climate Action Plan 2030+ (CAP) and the Hong Kong 2030+: Towards a Planning Vision and Strategy Transcending 2030 (Hong Kong 2030+). The Study includes a Street Tree Selection Guide (the Guide). It is a practical reference tool to assist designers in selecting tree species suitable for different common streetscape typologies in the urban area1 of Hong Kong.

This Study provides an analysis and evaluation of the current urban Hong Kong streetscape conditions and recommends a more diverse tree species list for different street types2. Methods of analysis include the overview of existing guidelines and ordinances, site observations, local experiences and valuable inputs from the landscape and arboriculture industry, relevant government departments and related disciplines.

The Study has found that the current Hong Kong roadside urban forest is dominated by a small range of 20 common tree species in large quantity and planted en-masse. Such homogenous planting or monoculture reduces plant diversity and make our urban forest more vulnerable to outbreaks of pests and diseases, and diminished soil quality. In response, 80 less commonly used but suitable tree species are recommended in the Guide to support a long term sustainable, healthy and resilient urban forest. Due to the scope and limitation of the Study, users are welcome to select other tree species not shortlisted using the same principles and methodology including the 20 common tree species, which are not in the Guide due to its abundance in stock. These commonly used species are however not encouraged to be widely planted as previously practised, to improve the vegetation diversity of our future urban forest.

The Guide is written for consultants, government works departments, professionals and practitioners, involved in street trees replacement and planting. To achieve a healthy and resilient urban forest, it recommends making reference to the 10-20-30 basic rule of plant diversity as a start, i.e. no more than 10% of any one species, 20% of any one genus and 30% of any one family. As roadside planting environment can be very different due to site specific landscape conditions such as narrow footpaths, underground utilities, microclimate, minimal air movement, etc., the Guide is not meant to be prescriptive. Professional advice from Landscape Architects and other relevant disciplines should be sought during the planning and design stages to ensure the overall street landscape as well as other supporting elements such as complementary vegetation community mixes (CVCM), tree pit details, structural soils or cells, drainage, below-ground infrastructure, etc. are duly taken into consideration.

The health of trees and vegetation starts with a favourable landscape from the outset to facilitate their subsequent maintenance. Designers and departments are encouraged to widely apply the Guide in the replacement and new street tree planting projects. With more practical applications of the shortlisted species, more experience can be developed to review and update the Guide. Users are encouraged to provide comments to the GLTMS so that continual improvements can be made for the future of our urban ecology.

1 For the purpose of this Study, urban area means built-up areas within the Hong Kong Island, Kowloon and the New Territories.
2 Expressways, highways and trunk roads were excluded in the analysis as both are considered to have very specific requirements to be studied separately.

 

Figure 4-1 - Tree Selection Criteria

Figure 5-6 Consolidated Summary of the Street Typology Selection Process

 

Street Tree Selection and Replacement Guide

Full Version

By Part and Appendix

Street Tree Selection Matrix

The Top 20 Common Urban Trees

街道選樹指南

香港特別行政區發展局轄下的綠化、園境及樹木管理組 (管理組) 委託顧問進行研究,為香港的街道樹木選擇作重新整理及提供指引。 研究以「植樹有方,因地制宜」為原則,並以豐富樹木品種的多樣性為目的,藉以提升香港城市林木的適應力,改善上游的生態健康,從而減低下游的樹木風險。

從前種植的樹木,在當時可能適合於在該地點種植,例如早年用於斜坡植林的先鋒樹木,在今天已經長大並與周邊人煙稠密的城市環境不相配,又或它們已到達生命周期的終點而變得不適合。 在逐步需要為樹木更替的同時,也為我們應用及實踐可持續園境策略提供契機,《香港街道生態策略》研究(研究)正是為此而進行。 研究旨在為香港長遠及可持續的街道植樹提供全面的策略框架,同時也為政府對《香港生物多樣性策略及行動計劃》、《香港氣候行動藍圖2030+》和《香港2030+:跨越2030年的規劃遠景與策略》的整體工作提供支援。 研究包括制定《街道選樹指南》(指南),為設計者在香港市區1各類常見街道選擇合適的樹木品種時,提供實用的參考工具。

研究就香港現時的街道狀況作出分析及評估,並建議在不同類型的街道2上栽種更多樣化的樹木品種。研究方法包括檢視現行的指引和條例、實地觀察、本地經驗,以及廣納園境及樹藝業界、相關政府部門和專業學會的寶貴意見。

研究發現現時香港市區的街道樹木,主要為廣泛種植的20種常見樹木品種。這種同類種植或單一栽種模式會削弱植物的多樣性,令本港的城市林木更易受病蟲害影響,亦會令土壤質素下降。 為應對這情況,本指南建議了80種過往比較少採用但合適的樹木品種,以支持我們城市林木長遠發展的可持續性、健康性及其適應能力。 使用者亦可以根據指南內提供的原則及方法,選擇其他因本研究範圍所限而未被列入名單內的合適樹木品種,包括20種市區常見的樹木品種。 然而,為改善未來城市林木的植物多樣性,應盡量減少廣泛種植這些以往常見的樹木品種。

本指南是為從事街道樹木更替和種植相關工作的顧問、政府公務部門、專業人士和從業員而撰寫。 為達致健康和具適應力的城市林木,我們建議以10-20-30的植物多樣性基本法則作起步參考,即任何植物品種不超過10%,任何同屬的植物不超過20%和任何同科的植物不超過30%。 由於路旁的栽種環境會因應現場的特別環境因素而各有不同,例如:行人路的闊度、地下設施分佈、微氣候、空氣流量等,因此不應把指南作為既定的規則使用,並應在規劃和設計階段尋求園境師及其他相關行業的專業意見,以確保街道園境設計及其他輔助要素已整體及妥善地考慮,包括 「互補植物群落組合」 (Complementary Vegetation Community Mix)、樹穴設計、透水耐壓的種植土壤或模組、排水系統、地下設施等。

合適的樹木及植物如能配合有利的環境便可茁壯成長,從而減低日後的護養需要。我們鼓勵設計師及部門在進行街道樹木更替和種植時,廣泛應用本指南以選擇及種植合適的樹木品種。 透過更多實地應用和經驗累積,我們希望在日後為指南作適時的檢視及更新。 我們鼓勵使用者向本管理組提出意見,一起持續改善本港未來的城市生態。

1 就此研究而言,市區指香港島、九龍及新界的已建設區。
2 快速公路、公路和幹道都具特別要求而應作個別研究,因此並不包括在本研究範圍內。

 

Street Tree Selection and Replacement Guide

資料正在準備中,我們將會在2019年第一季和大家見面。

完整版

分部及附錄

街道選樹應用程式

20種常見街道樹木品種