Relevant Organisations, Qualifications and Training on Tree Management

Arboriculture is a relatively new field in modern science. Some overseas organisations have promulgated training and qualification framework for reference.

International Society of Arboriculture

The International Society of Arboriculture (ISA) was founded in 1924 to promote the professional practice of arboriculture and fosters a greater worldwide awareness of the benefits of trees. ISA currently has six types of memberships in arboriculture, namely ISA Certified Arborist, ISA Certified Arborist Utility Specialist, ISA Certified Arborist Municipal Specialist, ISA Certified Tree Worker Climber Specialist, ISA Certified Tree Worker Aerial Lift Specialist and ISA Board Certified Master Arborist. For details of ISA, please visit the website at: http://www.isa-arbor.com/

For details of ISA Hong Kong Chapter, please visit the website at: https://www.isahongkong.org/.

Arboriculture Association, the United Kingdom

The Arboricultural Association was founded in 1964 and is the largest body in the United Kingdom (UK) for the amenity tree care professional. Ranging from student to fellow, there are six levels of membership grades, linked to the UK National Qualifications Framework levels. Currently, there are approximately 2,000 Arboricultural Association members. For details of the Arboricultural Association, please visit the website at: http://www.trees.org.uk/

European Arboricultural Council, the European Union

The European Arboricultural Council (EAC) is a forum for European arboricultural organisations with the same object of elevating the status and advancing the profession by liaising on matters ranging from research and education to successful tree establishment and improvement of working practices. EAC has two forms of membership, namely the European Tree Worker and European Tree Technician. For details of EAC, please visit the website at: http://www.eac-arboriculture.com/en/

Arboriculture Australia, Australia

The Arboriculture Australia (AA) is a not-for-profit professional organisation dedicated to raising the standard of tree care and maintenance in Australia. AA currently has nine types of membership, ranging from student to Registered Practicing & Consulting Arborist. For details of AA, please visit the website at: http://arboriculture.org.au/

Hong Kong Landscape Architects Registration Board

The Landscape Architects Registration Board (LARB) of Hong Kong was established on 10 September 1997 under the Landscape Architects Registration Ordinance - Cap. 516 (LARO). For details of LARO, please visit the website at: http://larb-hk.org/

For details of Hong Kong Institute of Landscape Architects, please visit the website at: http://www.hkila.com

Disclaimer
The above list is for reference only and is not exhaustive of local and/or overseas professional institutions on tree management work. Reference can also be made to other professional qualifications offered by professional institutions through a well-established accreditation and appropriate assessment system.

 

Local Training Opportunities

At present, local training on arboriculture at degree, professional diploma and certificate level are offered by various institutions in Hong Kong. Some examples are appended below.

Arboriculture Organisations

Bachelor of Arts (Honours) in Horticulture and Landscape Management

This Programme, offered by The Technological and Higher Education Institute of Hong Kong (THEi), aims to equip students with the theoretical, technical and professional skills and knowledge in horticulture and arboriculture management, landscape construction and maintenance, related sciences of plants, landscapes and the environment, and sustainable landscape management. It will prepare students to perform the roles and tasks related to horticultural and arboricultural supervision, tree assessment, landscape management, and professional support for both the development and conservation of landscapes and the environment.

Please refer to the website here.

Advanced Diploma in Tree Management and Conservation

The Advanced Diploma in Tree Management and Conservation programme, offered by HKU School of Professional and Continuing Education (HKU SPACE), responds to the urgent demand for professional training for personnel engaging in tree management and conservation work in view of the quality tree management policy of the HKSAR Government and the ever-increasing social awareness of tree conservation in parallel. Employees in the fields or organizations such as landscape architecture, surveying, property management, contractor works, government administrative departments and public organizations relating tree management and conservation are the possible ones to be directly benefited by taking this programme.

Please visit the website here for further details.

Professional Diploma in Horticulture and Landscape Management

The Professional Diploma in Horticulture and Landscape Management programme, offered by The Technological and Higher Education Institute of Hong Kong (THEi), is designed essentially to meet the demands from the industry for horticultural and arboricultural practitioners as well as landscape works supervisors. It provides a broad-based framework for the study of diploma level (Level 4) modules, and emphasizes horticultural principles and practices, plant science, and landscape management, blending together the essential intellectual and practical skills that match the industry's requirements best. This programme is recognized by The Hong Kong Institute of Landscape Architects as fulfilling the academic requirement under their Accredited Arboricultural Practitioners' Scheme (AAP).

Please refer to the website here.

Higher Diploma in Conservation and Tree Management

This programme, offered by the Hong Kong Institute of Vocational Education (IVE), aims to meet the increasing manpower demand in arboriculture, tree management and nature conservation profession by providing students with specialised training and practical skills in arboriculture, tree management and nature conservation.

This programme is designed with an emphasis on generic and language training, whole-person development and workplace experience to better prepare students for further studies and employment after graduation.

Please visit the website here for further details.

Associate Degree in Tree Management

This programme is offered by the Hong Kong Baptist University, College of International Education (HKBU CIE) which aims to provide students with comprehensive training, knowledge and practical skills in tree management to prepare students for career development and/or further studies in areas related to tree conservation and management. Skills and experience gained will include tree identification, soil management, tree planting, establishment, protection, tree health care, mature tree maintenance and tree-risk assessment so as to equip students on how to evaluate feasible ways and strategies to sustain the healthy management of trees. The former will be gained by classroom learning, workshops, seminars, field studies, site visits, and a summer internship programme.

Please visit the website at for further details.

Certificate in Professional Tree Management

The Certificate in Professional Tree Management, offered by Li Ka Shing Institute of Professional and Continuing Education (LiPACE) of The Open University of Hong Kong (OUHK), which is pitched at Q.F. Level 3, aims to provide students with the essential knowledge of tree management and to enable them to provide proper suggestions for mitigating tree risk and to prepare an assessment report. The practical curriculum of the programme includes main topics of essentials of tree management, and tree inspection and risk assessment.

Please visit the website here for further details.

Diploma Programme in Arboriculture

The School of Continuing and Professional Studies, The Chinese University of Hong Kong (CUSCS) and The Hong Kong Trees Conservation Association (HKTCA) jointly offer programme in Diploma Programme in Arboriculture (course detail). This programme aims at helping participants to acquire, develop and strengthen specialized knowledge, skills and training on various aspects of planning, management and maintenance of trees as well as conservation of trees on construction and development sites. It also aims at developing their competence at a higher level in tree management and maintenance.

Skills Upgrading Scheme Plus Courses (SUS)

The SUS, funded by the Employee Retraining Board, in relation to arboriculture is offered to all Hong Kong eligible employees (including new arrivals) aged 15 or above and with education attainment of sub-degree or below, which are delivered through various training bodies. Please visit the website here.

These certificate courses are suitable for those who are interested to acquire the necessary basic skills in arboricultural work. They are Basic Arboriculture, Tree Identification, Tree Preservation and Risk Assessment, Tree Climbing and Operation, Tree Climber Course, and Certified Arborist Course. For details of these courses, please visit this website here.

Websites of Related Professional Organisations

 

Arboriculture Vocational Assessment

To enhance the professionalism and standardisation of arboricultural industry in Hong Kong, and to step up the skill level of frontline staff and provide them with professional recognition, a new requirement in pruning was introduced to government maintenance contracts to be invited from April 2015 onwards and all other works contracts to be invited from April 2016 onwards.

Under the new requirement, all workers undertaking tree pruning works involving the use of chainsaw for those contracts specified above must have passed the "Vocational Assessment in Safety Use and Maintenance of Chainsaw Operation and Basic Tree Pruning for the Arboriculture Industry" organised by the Vocational Training Council (VTC) or, possess equivalent qualification from a recognised local/overseas training institute or professional body.

Currently, equivalent qualifications recognised as fulfilling the new requirement include the following:

相關的組織、資格及訓練

與其他現代科學比較,樹藝屬一門新的學科。不同的海外及本地組織相繼制定了培訓及資格的框架可供參考。

國際樹木學會

國際樹木學會成立於1924年以提供樹藝專業及向世界各界人士推廣樹木的益處。國際樹木學會現時有六類的會員,包括註冊樹藝師、註冊樹藝專業人士(公共設施)、註冊樹藝專業人士(都市)、註冊樹藝人員(爬樹)、註冊樹藝人員(高空工作)及學會認可樹藝師。如要獲取更多與國際樹木學會相關的資料,可查閱學會的網頁:http://www.isa-arbor.com

有關國際樹木學會香港分部的資料,可查閱網頁:
http://www.isahongkong.com/index.php?lang=zh-tw

英國樹木學會

英國樹木學會成立於1964,是集結了英國樹木護理專業人員的大型組織。學會現時按英國國家資歷架構共設有六級的會員組別,由最低層的學生到最高的院士。現時,學會共約2000名會員。如要獲取更多與英國樹木學會相關的資料,可查閱學會的網頁:
http://www.trees.org.uk

歐洲樹木委員會

歐洲樹木委員會提供一個平台與歐洲各國擁有共同理念,並會透過科研、教育及改善施工以提升樹藝專業水平的機構。歐洲樹木委員會有兩類的會員,即樹木技術工人及樹木技術人員。如要獲取更多與歐洲樹木委員會相關的資料,可查閱委員會的網頁:
http://www.eac-arboriculture.com

澳洲樹藝

澳洲樹藝是非牟利的專業組織,專注於提升澳洲樹木護理及護養的水平。澳洲樹藝現時有九類的會員,由學生到註冊執業及顧問樹藝師。如要獲取更多與澳洲樹藝相關的資料,可查閱澳洲樹藝的網頁:http://arboriculture.org.au

香港園境師註冊管理局

如要獲取更多與香港園境師註冊管理局相關的資料,可查閱管理局的網頁:http://larb-hk.org

有關香港園境師學會的資料,可查閱網頁:http://www.hkila.com

免責聲名
上列有關本港或外地樹木管理專業團體的資料僅供參考,並未能盡錄所有相關資料。由其他專業團體已確立的認證程序及合適的評核制度亦適用。

 

本地培訓機會

目前,一些香港院校均提供學士學位、專業文憑和證書程度的樹藝課程。其中一些例子如下:

與樹藝相關的組織

園藝及園境管理(榮譽)文學士

本課程旨在讓學生掌握園藝及樹藝管理,園境建設及維護的理論,技術和專業的技能和知識,涵蓋植物科學,園境和環境,可持續園境管理等相關學科範疇。這將幫助學生履行有關行業的專業角色和任務,包括園藝及樹藝監督,樹木評估,園境管理,以及園境發展和環境保育的專業支持。

請瀏覽此網頁查看進一步資料。

樹木管理及保育高等文憑

香港特區政府推行優質樹木管理政策。與此同時,公眾對樹木保育的意識亦不斷提高。兩者產生了對專業樹木管理及保育培訓的逼切需求。香港大學專業進修學院的樹木管理及保育高等文憑就是為此而開辦的課程。

請瀏覽此網頁查看進一步資料。

園藝及園境管理專業文憑

請瀏覽此網頁(英文版本)查看有關該課程內容。

保育及樹木管理高級文憑

本課程由香港專業教育學院開辦,為學生提供有關樹藝、樹木管理及自然保育的專業訓練及實踐,以應付社會在樹藝、樹木管理及自然保育專業人員不斷上升的需求。本課程著重通識教育、語文訓練、全人發展和職場工作體驗,為學生畢業後繼續升學或就業作更佳裝備。

請瀏覽此網頁查看進一步資料。

樹木管理副學士課程

此課程由香港浸會大學國際學院開辦。本專修課程內容全面,兼顧理論及實踐培訓,裝備同學畢業後繼續升學或投身樹木保育及管理的工作。通過課堂教學、工作坊、野外考察、實地參觀和暑期實習計畫等,加強同學在樹木分類、土壤管理、樹木風險評估、種植和護養等多方面的實際技能,從而評估可行方案和策略,以便管理樹木和維持它們的健康。

請瀏覽此網頁查看進一步資料。

專業樹木管理證書

專業樹木管理證書由香港公開大學李嘉誠專業進修學院開辦,課程達資歷架構第三級,為學員提供樹木管理基本知識,教導學員檢查樹木健康狀況及評估樹木風險,建議正確措施降低風險,以及撰寫風險評估報告。課程包括樹木管理基礎和樹木檢查及風險評估兩個單元。

請瀏覽此網站了解進一步的細節。

樹藝文憑課程

香港中文大專業進修學院及香港愛護樹木協會聯合提供樹藝文憑課程(章程)。這些課程的目的是幫助學員獲取,發展和加強在規劃,管理和保養,以及在建築和發展用地上保護樹木的專業知識和技能。它還旨在發展他們在更高層次樹木管理和保養的能力。詳情可查閱院校的網站

新技能提升計劃課程

僱員再培訓局資助並透過一些培訓機構提供有關樹藝學的新技能提升計劃課程予所有15歲或以上並擁有副學位或以下教育程度的香港合資格僱員(包括新來港定居人士)。詳情請查閱此網站

這些證書課程適合有興趣學習在樹藝工作上必需基本技能的僱員。這些課程有基本樹藝學,植物辨認及種植,樹木保育及危機評估,攀樹及樹上操作技巧、攀樹師和樹藝師單元證書。這些課程的詳細內容,請查閱此網站

相關專業機構網址

香港園藝專業學會
http://hkihs.org/activity/

香港園藝學會
http://www.ihhk.org

 

樹藝業專業能力評估

為協助香港樹藝業邁向專業及標準化,提升前線從業員的技術水平以得到專業認可,在2015年4月1日或以後政府招標的綠化保養項目及2016年4月1日或以後招標的所有其他工程項目將引入樹木修剪的新規定。

在新規定下,操作電油鏈鋸進行樹木修剪的工人必須已通過職業訓練局舉辦的「樹藝業專業能力評估」,考核項目包括「電油鏈鋸之安全使用及保養」和「基本樹木修剪」兩個範疇,或持有本地或海外認可培訓機構頒發的相等資歷。

現時,其他獲認可符合新規定的相等資歷包括: