Phauda flammans larvae feeding on leaves of Ficus trees and methods of treatment

Introduction

Phauda flammans are found in southern China, Hong Kong, Malaysia, Thailand, Indonesia and India. Phauda flammans larvae (larvae) feed on leaves to survive and are commonly found on Ficus trees. After a larva matures, it will form a cocoon, pupate, and then emerge from the pupal case and turn into an adult. The adult will then lay eggs on leaves after mating, which will hatch into larvae and start feeding on leaves. There can be more than two generations of larvae per year.

EggEgg
LarvaLarva
LarvaLarva
PupaPupa
AdultAdult
AdultAdult

Larval infestation

It is a natural phenomenon that larvae feed on leaves of Ficus trees. However, this phenomenon was more apparent in Hong Kong in the summer of 2020. Though the appearance of infested Ficus trees has deteriorated due to defoliation, the infestation did not have a serious impact on their overall health and structural conditions. The affected trees recovered from infestation gradually in late 2020 and early 2021 and no trees have to be removed.

Larvae control measures

To ensure the effective implementation of integrated pest management, specific measures should be adopted having regard to different stages of the life cycle of the insect (eggs, larvae, pupae and adults), followed by monitoring, evaluating the effectiveness of the control measures and making adjustments whenever necessary. Private property owners or management personnel can monitor affected trees on their properties on a regular basis, and take appropriate control measures according to the infestation extent of the trees, their surrounding environment, as well as different stages of the life cycle of the insect. Pest control work for trees involves arboricultural knowledge and requires professional input. Private property owners or management companies should engage qualified professionals to advise, supervise and handle all matters in relation to tree work. Appropriate control measures include:

  1. To wrap the tree trunk with bamboo/straw mats or hessian bags to catch active larvae on the trunk; and to regularly remove and replace bamboo/straw mats or hessian bags that are drenched, so that the trunk will not be weakened in a humid environment for a long time, which will affect its health and structural conditions.

    Wrapping the tree trunk with hessian bags to catch larvae
    Wrapping the tree trunk with hessian bags to catch larvae
    (photo courtesy of the Leisure and Cultural Services Department (LCSD))

  2. To step up the clearance of pupae inside the tree bark, crevices in roots, top soil and fallen leaves when larvae are forming cocoons, so that fewer larvae will emerge as adults in the next stage; and to properly handle yard waste such as dead leaves and pupae to prevent pest transmission due to improper transportation.

    Clearing dead leaves and pupae
    Clearing dead leaves and pupae
    (photo courtesy of the LCSD)

  3. To spray soap water or chilli water on the affected tree crown and tree trunk to remove larvae on the leaves or the trunk.

    Spraying soap water
    Spraying soap water
    (photo courtesy of the LCSD)

  4. To consider engaging a professional pest control agent if necessary, as advised by the qualified arboricultural professionals, for pest prevention and control work, particularly the application of agricultural pesticides*.
    (*Note: Since pesticides will cause environmental pollution, priority should be given to other methods in preventing and controlling plant pests, and appropriate pesticides should only be used after all other methods have been found ineffective. As regards pesticide application, appropriate pesticides that are the safest, most effective with lower toxicity and approved under the Hong Kong legislation should be used to reduce their impact on the environment and ecology. After applying pesticides, relevant warning signs should be displayed conspicuously. For more information on the safe and proper use of pesticides, please visit the webpage of the Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation Department at:
    https://www.afcd.gov.hk/english/quarantine/qua_pesticide/qua_pes_safe/qua_pes_safe.html )

    Warning sign
    Warning sign
    (photo courtesy of the LCSD)

啃食榕樹樹葉的朱紅毛斑蛾幼蟲及治理方法

簡介

朱紅毛斑蛾(Phauda flammans)在中國南方、香港、馬來西亞、泰國、印尼及印度均有發現。朱紅毛斑蛾的幼蟲(蛾蟲)以啃食樹葉為生,此情況多見於榕樹。幼蟲成熟後會結繭、化蛹及羽化成蟲,成蟲交配後會於葉上產卵,卵孵化成幼蟲後便開始啃食樹葉,每年可出現兩代或以上幼蟲。

卵
幼蟲幼蟲
幼蟲幼蟲
蛹
成蟲成蟲
成蟲成蟲

蛾蟲問題

蛾蟲啃食榕樹樹葉是一個自然生態現象。然而在香港此現象於2020年夏季較為明顯,受蟲害的榕樹雖然因葉片減少而外觀變差,但對樹木的整體健康和結構狀況未構成嚴重影響。受影響的樹木的健康狀況在2020年底及2021年年初陸續恢復,並沒有樹木因此需要移除。

防治蛾蟲的方法

要有效綜合管理蟲害,須對應蟲害每個不同的生命週期(卵、幼蟲、蛹及成蟲)而採取針對性措施及進行跟進監察,並評估成效及在有需要時作出調整。私人物業業主或管理人員可定期監察物業內受影響的樹木,並根據樹木受影響的程度、其周邊的環境、以及蟲害不同階段的生命週期等,採取合適的防治措施。防治樹木蟲害工作涉及樹藝方面的知識,並需要專業意見。私人物業業主或管理公司應聘用合資格專業人士就各方面的樹木工作提供意見,以及監督和處理相關事宜。合適的防治措施包括:

  1. 利用竹/草蓆或麻布袋包裹樹幹,捕捉在樹幹上活動的蛾蟲;定期清理及更換已濕透竹/草蓆或麻布袋,以避免樹幹長時間在潮濕環境下變弱,影響其健康及結構狀況。

    麻布袋包裹樹幹捕捉蛾蟲
    麻布袋包裹樹幹捕捉蛾蟲
    (相片由康樂及文化事務署提供)

  2. 於蛾蟲結繭期間,加強清除藏於樹皮或樹根隙縫、淺土層及落葉的蟲蛹,緩減下一階段成蟲羽化的數量;枯葉、蟲蛹等園境廢物需妥善處理,避免因運送不當導致傳播。

    清理枯葉及蟲蛹
    清理枯葉及蟲蛹
    (相片由康樂及文化事務署提供)

  3. 以肥皂水或辣椒水噴灑受影響的樹冠及於樹幹,可除去在葉片或樹幹上的蛾蟲。

    噴灑肥皂水
    噴灑肥皂水
    (相片由康樂及文化事務署提供)

  4. 如有需要,可按合資格樹藝專業人士的建議方法,考慮另聘專業滅蟲公司協助執行防控蟲害工作,尤其使用農業用的除害劑*。
    (* 備註:由於除害劑會污染環境,在防治植物病蟲害時,應優先使用其他方法,該在嘗試這些方法無效後才使用適合的除害劑。在使用除害劑時,應選用最安全、有效、毒性較低、合適及香港法例核准的除害劑,以減少除害劑對環境及生態的影響。在使用除害劑後,應在當眼的位置張貼有關的警告標語。欲取更多安全及正確使用除害劑的資料,可瀏覽漁農自然護理署網頁:
    https://www.afcd.gov.hk/tc_chi/quarantine/qua_pesticide/qua_pes_safe/qua_pes_safe.html )

    警告標語
    警告標語
    (相片由康樂及文化事務署提供)