Tree MaintenanceArr

We should carefully look after trees to ensure they grow well. For young trees, we need to provide irrigation and fertilising for early growth, give them support by staking, control weeds around them and carry out formative pruning to create a balanced and healthy tree form, which could help reduce the tree risk in the future. For mature trees, we need to be more aware of potential risk and carry out inspection by trained personnel, especially in areas where there are greater numbers of people and traffic.

We can all take care of trees in the community and make Hong Kong a greener place. Below are some practical tips:

Practical Tips on Tree Care

Provide a suitable growing environment for trees

To allow adequate space for future growth both above and below ground

To keep a suitable distance between trees and buildings

To regularly prune tree crowns and remove dead / broken branch

To monitor the health conditions of trees in our community

Tree Protection Measures

Tree Protection Measures
  • Do not excavate near tree roots
  • Do not step on tree roots
  • Do not place or store heavy objects near trees (including no parking near trees)
  • Do not place liquids such as chemicals near trees
  • Do not damage tree bark (including no graffitii or bark removal)
  • Do not hang nor attach items on trees permanently
  • Pictorial Guide for Tree Maintenance

Tree Care During Construction

Do not place tools around trees

Do not girdle trees

Do not use trees as anchors

Do not truncate tree roots

Do not top trees

Do not fix any objects onto tree trunks

Do not conduct any works within the tree protection zone

Do not work with machines near trees

Tree Management Practice Notes


How to prune a treeArr
Brown Root Rot DiseaseArr
1. What is Brown Root Rot disease? Arr
Brown Root Rot disease (BRRD) is caused by the aggressive fungal pathogen Phellinus noxius, a white rot fungus that could result in rapid health and structural deterioration of trees and may lead to tree failure.
2. How does Brown Root Rot disease spread? Arr
  • BRRD disease can be spread through root contact, contaminated soil, ground water, surface water, and even through the air.
  • The public are strongly advised to stay away from known infected trees as contaminated soil on shoes can also spread the disease.
3. Impact of Brown Root Rot disease infection Arr
  • It is an international disease prevalent in tropical and sub-tropical regions with no effective cure. There have been numerous claims of cures or effective management, but once the tree is infected, it cannot be cured.
  • BRRD disease can lead to swift deterioration in health of the tree, causing eventual decay and irreversible structural damage to tree roots, posing a serious threat to public safety.
  • BRRD disease has devastating impact on our landscape. Once a site is infected, it must be completely disinfected.
4. Management Approach Arr
5. Way Forward Arr
  • The GLTMS has been collaborating with research institutions to conduct fungal surveys, diagnosis and preventive studies on aspects such as BRRD disease resistant species and cure.
  • Research projects and exchange of views with overseas experts can enhance our understanding of the disease, which could help build a more holistic, active and successful management approach in the future.
  • To positively build capacity and raise overall professional knowledge and standards in the industry will be the key towards better management of BRRD disease.
Phauda flammans larvae feeding on leaves of Ficus trees and methods of treatmentArr

Introduction

Phauda flammans are found in southern China, Hong Kong, Malaysia, Thailand, Indonesia and India. Phauda flammans larvae (larvae) feed on leaves to survive and are commonly found on Ficus trees. After a larva matures, it will form a cocoon, pupate, and then emerge from the pupal case and turn into an adult. The adult will then lay eggs on leaves after mating, which will hatch into larvae and start feeding on leaves. There can be more than two generations of larvae per year.

Egg

Larva

Larva

Pupa

Adult

Adult

Larval infestation

It is a natural phenomenon that larvae feed on leaves of Ficus trees. However, this phenomenon was more apparent in Hong Kong in the summer of 2020. Though the appearance of infested Ficus trees has deteriorated due to defoliation, the infestation did not have a serious impact on their overall health and structural conditions. The affected trees recovered from infestation gradually in late 2020 and early 2021 and no trees have to be removed.

Larvae control measures

To ensure the effective implementation of integrated pest management, specific measures should be adopted having regard to different stages of the life cycle of the insect (eggs, larvae, pupae and adults), followed by monitoring, evaluating the effectiveness of the control measures and making adjustments whenever necessary. Private property owners or management personnel can monitor affected trees on their properties on a regular basis, and take appropriate control measures according to the infestation extent of the trees, their surrounding environment, as well as different stages of the life cycle of the insect. Pest control work for trees involves arboricultural knowledge and requires professional input. Private property owners or management companies should engage qualified professionals to advise, supervise and handle all matters in relation to tree work. Appropriate control measures include:

  1. To wrap the tree trunk with bamboo/straw mats or hessian bags to catch active larvae on the trunk; and to regularly remove and replace bamboo/straw mats or hessian bags that are drenched, so that the trunk will not be weakened in a humid environment for a long time, which will affect its health and structural conditions.

    Wrapping the tree trunk with hessian bags to catch larvae
    (photo courtesy of the Leisure and Cultural Services Department (LCSD))

  2. To step up the clearance of pupae inside the tree bark, crevices in roots, top soil and fallen leaves when larvae are forming cocoons, so that fewer larvae will emerge as adults in the next stage; and to properly handle yard waste such as dead leaves and pupae to prevent pest transmission due to improper transportation.

    Clearing dead leaves and pupae
    (photo courtesy of the LCSD)

  3. To spray soap water or chilli water on the affected tree crown and tree trunk to remove larvae on the leaves or the trunk.

    Spraying soap water
    (photo courtesy of the LCSD)

  4. To consider engaging a professional pest control agent if necessary, as advised by the qualified arboricultural professionals, for pest prevention and control work, particularly the application of agricultural pesticides*.
    (*Note: Since pesticides will cause environmental pollution, priority should be given to other methods in preventing and controlling plant pests, and appropriate pesticides should only be used after all other methods have been found ineffective. As regards pesticide application, appropriate pesticides that are the safest, most effective with lower toxicity and approved under the Hong Kong legislation should be used to reduce their impact on the environment and ecology. After applying pesticides, relevant warning signs should be displayed conspicuously. For more information on the safe and proper use of pesticides, please visit the webpage of the Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation Department at:
    https://www.afcd.gov.hk/english/quarantine/qua_pesticide/qua_pes_safe/qua_pes_safe.html )

    Warning sign
    (photo courtesy of the LCSD)

樹木護養開啟 / 關閉

要令樹木健康成長,需要我們悉心照顧。對年幼的樹木,我們需要淋水、施肥、扶植、除草及修剪樹枝,以確保樹木成長後有更平衡及健康的形態,這亦有助減低日後的樹木風險。至於成年的樹木,我們需要留意存在風險及安排受訓的人員會定期檢查位於高人流高車流地點的樹木以保障公眾安全。

其實每位市民都可以幫手,一起護養身邊的樹木,使香港有一個更綠的環境。以下是一些實用要點:

護養要點

要讓樹木有適當的生長環境

在地面和地下均預留足夠空間讓樹木生長

樹木及附近樓房及/或建築物應保持適當的距離

定期修剪樹冠及移除枯枝或斷枝

齊手合力監察社區樹木的健康狀況

保護樹木

保護樹木
  • 切勿在樹根附近挖掘
  • 切勿踐踏樹根
  • 切勿在樹旁放置重物(包括不要在樹旁泊車)
  • 切勿在樹的附近放置液體如化學物
  • 切勿損壞樹皮(包括不要在樹皮塗鴉或扯脫樹皮)
  • 切勿在樹上懸掛或繫上永久性的物件
  • 護養樹木的簡易圖解

工程期間的樹木護理

切勿在樹木周圍堆放工具物料

切勿用繩纜纏繞樹幹

切勿以樹木作支撐

切勿切斷樹根

切勿把樹木截頂

切勿在樹幹上釘上任何物件

切勿在樹木保護範圍內進行工程

切勿在樹木附近使用機器

「樹木管理作業備考」


修剪辦法開啟 / 關閉
褐根病開啟 / 關閉
1. 什麼是褐根病? 開啟 / 關閉
褐根病是由一種具侵略性的真菌致病原有害木層孔菌(Phellinus noxius)所引致,此真菌為一種白腐真菌,可迅速損害樹木的健康及結構,更可能令樹木倒塌。
2. 褐根病如何傳播? 開啟 / 關閉
  • 褐根病可經由根部接觸、受污染的泥土、地面及地下水,甚至通過空氣傳播。
  • 可以透過鞋上受污染的泥土傳播褐根病,所以強烈建議公眾應遠離已知受感染的樹木。
3. 褐根病的影響 開啟 / 關閉
  • 褐根病是一種常見於熱帶及亞熱帶地區的病害,現時並沒有有效的根治方法。曾經有不少人宣稱有根治方法或有效的管理,但只要樹木一旦受感染,該病不能根治。
  • 樹木受感染後,健康會迅速惡化,最終導致根部出現腐爛和不可逆轉的結構性破壞,嚴重危害公眾安全。
  • 褐根病會對我們的園境帶來破壞性的影響。種植的地方一旦受到感染,就必須要徹底消毒。
4. 管理方針 開啟 / 關閉
5. 展望 開啟 / 關閉
  • 管理組一直在與研究機構合作開展真菌調查和診斷及預防褐根病的研究;例如有關褐根病的根治方法和抗褐根病品種的研究。
  • 透過這些研究和與海外專家交流意見,加深我們對褐根病的認識,有助我們在未來制定更全面、主動和有效的管理策略。
  • 為更好地管理褐根病,會進一步提升行業能力及整體專業知識和標準。
啃食榕樹樹葉的朱紅毛斑蛾幼蟲及治理方法開啟 / 關閉

簡介

朱紅毛斑蛾(Phauda flammans)在中國南方、香港、馬來西亞、泰國、印尼及印度均有發現。朱紅毛斑蛾的幼蟲(蛾蟲)以啃食樹葉為生,此情況多見於榕樹。幼蟲成熟後會結繭、化蛹及羽化成蟲,成蟲交配後會於葉上產卵,卵孵化成幼蟲後便開始啃食樹葉,每年可出現兩代或以上幼蟲。

幼蟲

幼蟲

成蟲

成蟲

蛾蟲問題

蛾蟲啃食榕樹樹葉是一個自然生態現象。然而在香港此現象於2020年夏季較為明顯,受蟲害的榕樹雖然因葉片減少而外觀變差,但對樹木的整體健康和結構狀況未構成嚴重影響。受影響的樹木的健康狀況在2020年底及2021年年初陸續恢復,並沒有樹木因此需要移除。

防治蛾蟲的方法

要有效綜合管理蟲害,須對應蟲害每個不同的生命週期(卵、幼蟲、蛹及成蟲)而採取針對性措施及進行跟進監察,並評估成效及在有需要時作出調整。私人物業業主或管理人員可定期監察物業內受影響的樹木,並根據樹木受影響的程度、其周邊的環境、以及蟲害不同階段的生命週期等,採取合適的防治措施。防治樹木蟲害工作涉及樹藝方面的知識,並需要專業意見。私人物業業主或管理公司應聘用合資格專業人士就各方面的樹木工作提供意見,以及監督和處理相關事宜。合適的防治措施包括:

  1. 利用竹/草蓆或麻布袋包裹樹幹,捕捉在樹幹上活動的蛾蟲;定期清理及更換已濕透竹/草蓆或麻布袋,以避免樹幹長時間在潮濕環境下變弱,影響其健康及結構狀況。

    麻布袋包裹樹幹捕捉蛾蟲
    (相片由康樂及文化事務署提供)

  2. 於蛾蟲結繭期間,加強清除藏於樹皮或樹根隙縫、淺土層及落葉的蟲蛹,緩減下一階段成蟲羽化的數量;枯葉、蟲蛹等園境廢物需妥善處理,避免因運送不當導致傳播。

    清理枯葉及蟲蛹
    (相片由康樂及文化事務署提供)

  3. 以肥皂水或辣椒水噴灑受影響的樹冠及於樹幹,可除去在葉片或樹幹上的蛾蟲。

    噴灑肥皂水
    (相片由康樂及文化事務署提供)

  4. 如有需要,可按合資格樹藝專業人士的建議方法,考慮另聘專業滅蟲公司協助執行防控蟲害工作,尤其使用農業用的除害劑*。
    (* 備註:由於除害劑會污染環境,在防治植物病蟲害時,應優先使用其他方法,該在嘗試這些方法無效後才使用適合的除害劑。在使用除害劑時,應選用最安全、有效、毒性較低、合適及香港法例核准的除害劑,以減少除害劑對環境及生態的影響。在使用除害劑後,應在當眼的位置張貼有關的警告標語。欲取更多安全及正確使用除害劑的資料,可瀏覽漁農自然護理署網頁:
    https://www.afcd.gov.hk/tc_chi/quarantine/qua_pesticide/qua_pes_safe/qua_pes_safe.html

    警告標語
    (相片由康樂及文化事務署提供)